Lessons from Beyonce

Queen-bee

Hi Guys! I pray all is well. This post is simply me sharing a revelation I had yesterday, and as I promised, I plan on sharing more of my thoughts and quiet time on here. I pray the holy spirit uses this post to encourage someone to strive for excellence as he did with me. It definitely had me thinking deeper about my relationship with God.

So after my lecture yesterday, I arrived home and decided to go on YouTube, just have a look at what was going on in the world because as most of you already know I’m a cave lady at heart LOL. Anyway, next thing i knew, I had watched a whole hour of beyonce’s performance at the global citizen charity something (mind you I have assignments due this week, fourth year pharmacy ain’t easy y’all.) Now way back in the day, me and bey were besties for real, but then my taste buds started to change and now I couldn’t care less who’s bringing out what song. So of course spending an hour glued to my laptop just watching this incredibly talented woman perform is not a part of my daily life plan. I was even more mesmerised by the 1000s of bey fans standing in the audience with their eyes fixed on her. Of course they knew all the lyrics to her songs and they proudly sang these songs with deep emotions. They really related to the words they sang.

Now I know those people probably travelled from different locations, both far and near. I also know that they probably waited ages to get into the venue and then waited for the programme to start. My attention was then drawn to the millions of views this video had on YouTube. I was also reminded of the several well-rehearsed fans’ imitations of Bey’s performance that I had seen on social media (particularly Instagram).  Unless you just don’t know what’s going on in the world of social media, everybody knows not to mess with the beyhive (fans of beyonce), like they will kill for beyonce.

Anyway, as I came to the end of the video, a lot of questions popped into my mind some of which i think i have the answers to. I am currently on a journey to pursue excellence in every area of my life. I am trying to develop my skills, acquire new ones and practice excellence in everything I do, especially when it comes to the things of God. Honestly, I learnt some key things from watching that performance. Please note that I am NOT endorsing Beyonce, her music or her videos. All I am saying is that from my short encounter with her “ministry”, the holy spirit drew my attention to a few things that I want to practice in my journey to pursue excellence. I realised that these days, I’m getting sick of mediocrity especially when it comes to the things of God. It is my prayer that I desire to develop the skills needed to operate in excellence knowing that I already have the holy spirit in me to help me do so for the glory of God. This is so that the things of God will not be mocked at or looked down upon simply because I was happy to operate in mediocrity.


Lessons from Beyonce’s performance: It was evident from the video that Beyonce and her team worked hard to pull together such a performance. Everything was timely and the dance moves were on simply on point. Again, I don’t really like to get involved with all this illuminati stuff because I’m too busy trying to focus on Christ and to be honest, the holy spirit hasn’t led me there so yeah. From the performance, Beyonce and her team appeared to have put in weeks of practice and HARD WORK. They worked hard even in their uncomfortable zones to provide a great performance. It must have been uncomfortable for them to dance and possibly rehearse in heels but they did it with a smile on their faces to achieve their purpose.

It saddened my heart to accept that many of us do not even strive to work hard and get out of our comfort zones to pursue our purpose in Christ. I remember a time when the Holy Spirit rebuked me for sitting down during worship simply because my heels were too high and uncomfortable. I knew in my spirit that God deserved more honour and glory. Also, we must not only rely on our talents but be ready to work hard and work together for God’s glory. We have to make use of all the resources available to us on the earth and develop the necessary skills which will help us excel in everything we do. As Christians, many of us cannot even take time to find out our purpose and identify the skills needed to achieve this purpose in the best way(most excellent) way possible. Not only that, we struggle to even come together selflessly and use our individual talents combined in an excellent way to convey the message of Christ to the people who need it. It’s sad that there is still  denominational divisions amongst several churches.

As young people, I encourage us to rise above this, focus on Christ and not our churches, pursuing Christ and not our church or pastors. We must learn the true word of God from our churches and desire to come together to do great things for God. I pray that the churches who say they stand for God will be encouraged to raise a generation with selfless faith, an army who will stand for God, knowing his ways and his works. Please don’t teach us to fight against each other simply because we go to different churches but encourage us to work in unity, with one mind and one heart for the glory of God.


Lesson from the Beyhive: Don’t mess with the beyhive or they will cut you LOL!!! They really do stand for beyonce, I mean even the way they sang along to the songs showed that they genuinely believe in her. Their dedication and commitment to her is insane and watching them drew my attention to my Christian walk. If we say we love God, we really must be filled with the spirit, soaked in his word, meditate on the word and quote them with power. We must Invest time, money and emotions (being genuine) into our relationship with God.We must desire to be in his presence and when we are, be ready to rid ourselves of all forms of distractions and focus on him alone.

Like I said before, everybody knows not to mess with the beyhive! The same way everybody must know not to mess with Christians, with God’s chosen people. I love the story in Judges when Gideon was leading the Israelites but was afraid to fight against the enemies. God led him to visit the enemies camp and just as he arrived, he overheard one of the men interpreting the dream of another man. This basically confirmed that the enemies were filled with fear because they knew that God was with Gideon and the Israelites. Young people of God have to rise up and let the world know that with our generation of Christians, you don’t mess with us or our God. That boy needs to know that you are part of the generation of young Christian girls who will not have sex with him because you obey and love your God more than him.


Now none of this happens in a day but it starts with us deciding to begin the journey to pursue Christ. Accept him into our lives and begin a genuine relationship with God and the holy Spirit. If you started the journey and fell on the way, be encouraged and get up, for Christ is waiting to continue this journey with you. Speak to someone for help and as always, feel free to get in contact with me if you have any comments or questions. May God help us for the journey ahead.

Email: angela.sekyere@myport.ac.uk
Instagram : Aunjela_Jesuslina

Love,

Angelaxx

4 thoughts on “Lessons from Beyonce”

Leave a comment