Be Encouraged…

Hi guys, I hope all is well with y’all. This is just a really short post (It’s supposed to be LOL!!!) with the hope to encourage someone. I was encouraged by my girl Miss Andrea’s blogpost on boredom to share this (check her out https://heatedgoldandpressuredcoal.wordpress.com/ ). I love her transparency about her struggles as she strives for a deeper relationship with God.

Let’s get started!!!! So the struggle is REAL guys. Lately, I have personally been going through a character building journey and I tell y’all it is not fun at all. The holy spirit has been constantly checking me about every little thing and honestly, It gets frustrating at times. To be honest, I literally fall asleep at every chance I get, just to avoid hearing God’s voice about my life sometimes (but then he gets me in my dreams LOL).

A lot of people around me have been going through similar things with God where we  spent a lot of time on our knees praying for direction and preparation for the journey ahead. However, God’s answer to these prayers can sometimes make us feel a certain way about life, and in my case, “it’s just LONG”. But I must say that I love God because he really does take care of his own. So if you are experiencing something similar to this, or know someone who is, BE ENCOURAGED. These a just a few steps that I am taking to ensure I make the most of this season but please feel free to share yours with me.

Keep a record of your prayer topics: I purchased a pocket book which I use as a prayer book. I basically write down all my prayer topics to God along with any desires of my heart that I want him to fulfil. It encourages me to know that God is actually answering my prayers, even though he might answer them in an unexpected way. It also makes you want to pray more often, trusting that he actually knows what is best for you.

Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV) For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.


The word: I do not play with the word guys!!! It’s insane how you might be so down but an encounter with the word can lift you up and make such a difference in your life. Again, I have a small notepad filled with some of my favourite bible verses which I just carry along with me. I also have messages (preachings) on my phone and laptop from my favourite preachers who just encourage me to hold on to God. For me, Joshua and Gideon always lifts my spirits. 

Joshua 1:7-9 “Be strong and very courageous. Be careful to obey all the law my servant Moses gave you; do not turn from it to the right or to the left, that you may be successful wherever you go. Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful. Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

Friends: Friends who pray for you and pray with you. You need godly people who you can just open up to about your struggles and vent to. They are key people to have in life. Most of the time, these people can see that your struggle is just you maturing as a Christian and will encourage you to stay positive.

Proverbs 27:17 “As iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend.”

Avoid Idleness: Whatever you do, DO NOT end up in your room, wallow in your sorrow and feel sorry for yourself. Growth for most people is not always pleasant, it is uncomfortable but just know there’s nothing new under the sun. Whatever your struggles are, take it to God or a godly person and allow the holy spirit to help you with this season of your life. Don’t drown in your thoughts, call up a godly friend (not Jonny from the past) but godly friends who can help you. Just remember that God will never fail nor abandon you.

Deuteronomy 31:6 “So be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid and do not panic before them. For the LORD your God will personally go ahead of you. He will neither fail you nor abandon you.

That’s it for now guys, I will soon be sharing some of my quiet time on here along with some really exciting projects I’m working on so stay tuned. I pray God uses this to encourage someone for his glory. Please feel free to message me if you have any queries or thoughts you would like to share with me.

Email: angela.sekyere@myport.ac.uk
Instagram : Aunjela_Jesuslina

Love,

Angelaxx

Leave a comment